top of page

Leave Only Footprints: A Book Review

Updated: Dec 14, 2021

I have recently been on a adventure book kick. While I am still grinding through my last semester of school, unable to go out and enjoy the world as much as I would like to, I have taken a liking to books that talk about adventures and exploring the world. This has led me to explore the travel and adventure section of Audible, searching for my next great find. I happened to stumble upon a book called "Leave Only Footprints: My Acadia To Zion Journey Through Every National Park" by Conner Knighton. At first I was a little skeptical of this book. Wondering if it would be too historical or educational. But I was mistaken, and I am so glad I was.

Knighton takes you on a journey through every national park in America. He takes you through his eyes on what it was like taking a year off of his life and traveling from park to park. He started this journey because he was heartbroken, torn up by a fallen apart relationship. He thought of a big idea to find himself and the beauty he so craved. See all of the National parks from Acadia to Zion.


This book took me to parks that I had never heard anything about other than its name and made me realize just how diverse the National Parks Service is. He takes you through a little bit of the history of each of the parks and it makes you feel every more connected to each and every one. But better than that he connects himself and his story. Weaving the intricacies of what it is like finding yourself in places you only dreamed up.


This book made me want to go visit every park, go on a grandiose adventure to find not only the beauty of the world but myself. It shifted how I looked at the different national parks and furthered my understanding of the history and beauty that each one has to hold. It even deepened my love for the parks I have never yet seen, and the ones I have explored in great lengths.


Through Knighton's vivid descriptions of his endeavors, it reminded me of my own journey through the national parks. Always in awe of the nature and beauty each one held so special. It reminded me of all of the special ways that nature brings you back to yourself. When you leave behind parts of yourself in your "old life" you find new parts waiting in places you have only dreamed up.


The only thing that bugged me about this book was that the national parks he writes about were in a different order than he visited them in. This bugged me to no end until I realized why he did it. Instead of putting the story in chronological order he grouped the national parks together by likeness. Putting parks that were similar together into one chapter. When I realized that he did this my uncomfortableness with the lack of "structure" fell. I ended up liking it a lot towards the end.


I think that if you are looking for a story with a little bit of history and a lot of personal story this is the book for you. You will learn a lot about the national parks, but also about Knighton's personal journey. It just might make you want to go find your own new path in life.


I would highly recommend this book!




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page